File preparation

So I am a complete noob to laser cutting/engraving. My question is, how do I designate a line to cut vs engrave? I am leaning toward TurboCAD for my design software. Is this setup after uploading the file, or do I need to figure it out in the software?

6 Likes

Hi @kent_gibbs, I’m a newbie to laser cutting too. (Got a little experience on the design side of things.)

I’m not familiar with TurboCAD, but it should be able to export a file type that the Glowforge will be able to work with. If it exports an SVG file type, that would be ideal, but you can also use DXF if it is converted first.

You will be able to tell the Glowforge whether you want to treat a line as a cut or an engrave through the Glowforge software itself. The thing to do when you design is to use different colors for your engraved lines and fills, versus your cut lines. You will assign an action to each part based on the colors.

13 Likes

Welcome @kent_gibbs to the forum. There has been precious little released openly regarding the interface. We have all discussed this issue many times. As much as I can understand it, the file preparation is important in distinguishing what is vector cut, or lightly vector scored, or raster engraved. Different colors on the design file will indicate those differences. Then in the software interface that treats the design file, you can designate what the Glowforge would do with those colors.

I know that file preparation is important to understand, especially if you are doing your own designs. The file format of the design is important. Here is what is on glowforge.com regarding compatibility:

1. Compatible: Work from your Mac, iPad, iPhone, Android, & Windows or Linux computer with JPG, PNG, PDF, EPS, & a host of other file types from software like Adobe Illustrator, Inkscape, Adobe Photoshop, GIMP, Autodesk, & Sketchup.