Improved Engraving Quality - Please Help!

Hey Glowforge community!

Just seeking some pointers/help with a project I’m considering undertaking. Please bear in mind - I’m very new to the Glowforge and some of the more design oriented aspects of this medium (.svg, design software, etc.)

I have a digitally drawn image that I’d like to make into coasters (along with several others that are similarly styled). To do a test, I removed the background of the original image shown below, then turned it black and white (simple iphone edit), saved and sent as a .jpg to the glowforge. I used the default settings to try an engraving on PG medium basswood hardwood. The image came out ok, but without detail and just looked muddy. Any tips and tricks to improve picture engrave quality for this and going forward would be much appreciated. Also, if theres anyway to actually keep the background in the first image and still have good detail, I’d love to hear it. Thanks!

3 Likes

You might find some good suggestions here:
https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=preparing%20for%20engraving

I particularly like these two posts:

4 Likes

That is one cool design. How did you choose your engrave? Vary power? Convert to dots?

The gradients are pretty subtle but should be clearer. I’m wondering if you could tweak the greys and make them a bit more dramatic between them. I am not a graphic designer and pretty much stick to spot color art. But someone who actually can help will come along soon. Your design really deserves something special!

That should be in your export settings.

7 Likes

Thank so much! I am not the creator, but a friend of mine is…which is why I’m trying to make a cool gift for him. I think it’s awesome too, and I’ll let him know others think so as well!