Inkscape-Glowforge is reading the fill on a design, causing it to not work as attempted

Hello, super small issue but I can’t find a result that’s working for me. I’m trying to print this simple design. Here are the steps I’m taking.

Open Inkscape
Create a black square.
Create text
Write “Glowforge” in white colored text and lay it over the black square.
Highlight “Glowforge” and use object to path so glowforge will read it (i plan on just using “ignore” on the GUI so that I get a black square, with the word “Glowforge” not lasered at all)
Once I upload it into GF, I’m getting a full black square underneath the design.

I’m very new to inkscape, so forgive my ignorance. Does anyone know how I can cut the word out of the fill? Thanks!

First you need to turn the text into a shape; GF doesn’t recognize text. @Jules shows how to do that in this tutorial: Make a Name Pendant in Inkscape

Then you need to subtract the text from the shape behind it so the GF only engraves where the text isn’t. There’s another tutorial from @Jules that includes subtracting a shape from another: Glowforge Interface - Vector Files Made Easy 🤔

If you work through both of those you’ll be well on your way to making it happen. :slight_smile:

7 Likes

And as always, remember, there’s a learning curve, and enjoy it!

Here’s a ton of stuff to get you started. If you read through it all you’ll get a huge leg up.

4 Likes

Thank you. I’m a little closer to what i’m looking for, but GUI is still reading the text as black. Maybe i should use something other than inkscape as i cant seem to find a “minus front” took as Jules mentioned.

There’s not a minus front tool – just a minus tool. She’s just saying that you’re subtracting the front from the back. :slight_smile: So you need to make sure what you want to select is in front, then select both things and click the “minus” tool.

I believe it’s called the Difference tool in Inkscape. (In the Path menu.)

2 Likes