Inkscape/SVG features not supported

Just an FYI really, I don’t expect anything to be done about this.

The “Clip” feature in inkscape is not supported by GF.

Neither is the use of stacked objects and/or layers to prevent the cutting of lower layers.

It seems an obscure issue and in a way it is, but clipping lets you effectively crop objects

Really? I was just doing some initial Inkscape tutorials and tried out a clip on some art and it 'Forged fine. I’m a rank beginner so I’m likely unaware of all it can do yet. Can you expand on how it’s not supported? Like, what should it do and what does it send up doing?
Thanks!

Good news and bad news.

Bad first: you’re right. No sugarcoating available.

Good: you can make it work with relatively small changes to your workflow in most cases.

Well known that clipping masks don’t work reliably in the UI. Use the clip to make a rasterized graphic, and then import it back into the document. Not ideal, perhaps, but it’ll get you on track until such time if/when clips are supported.

Also well known that layers are ignored. The UI uses colors to determine separate jobs. Search the forum for “custom palette”, it will make your inkscaping a lot easier.

3 Likes

I think the original post was more geared towards using z-index (stacking order) to knock out objects below.

To @sqw: SVG 1.1 doesn’t have a z-index. The spec calls for painting/rendering objects in the order that they are coded into the file. All it does with an onscreen render is paint an object on top to simulate knockout. You still have the object below.

If you want to knock out objects below, you need to learn to use Pathfinder or Boolean operations. Or, rasterize the object so you get a WYSIWIG.

2 Likes

Yes, that is what I figured, why I tagged it as Inkscape/SVG.
It’s flipping useful I know that!
Boolean can’t always do what you want by with off clipping.
And rasterising isn’t always the answer either.