Is there a manual to understand Speed, Precision, etc

First, I am new to laser cutting, so please be patient. Is there a document that defines what speed, precision power, number of passes, etc. does or is it totally trial and error to figure this out?

I there an actual manual on the GFUI and what each part does. I have the “Taking it out of the box” manual and the $1k safety PDF. Is there anything else that can help me understand what the settings do and, more importantly, why it does it?

Thanks–
Henry

2 Likes

Get a large drink and enter the tips and tricks category from main forum page.
Tons of info in there.

After a day or two of reading you can migrate to other categories.

The above is sort of tongue in cheek, but an actual truth. Tons of info here in the forums.
I have a CAD, art, robotics, and also a 3D background so thought it would be a snap to convert the knowledge. Lurking around here for the last few months has taught me a lot and it also gave me some things to watch out for.

Get a large drink and welcome to the forums…

10 Likes

This is an amazing question. Very glad you asked. Where else would someone post such a question as their first topic and a new comer to the forum. You are asking about speed, power and number of passes in the Problems and Support question which specifically requests that posts refrain from departing from Proofgrade and default settings. which might garner a reply something like, this is beyond the scope of Problems and Support. But most likely didn’t realize this. Who needs a manual for something that is drag and drop, click and print, no questions needed. So in reality, the answer to your question is no. This question might go best in Beyond the Manual (whatever manual that is referring to still needs some work for basic operations and best practices.).