Laser Thursday — Acrylic Laptop Stand

Hello, folks! I’m Luz, the newest addition to the Glowforge team. I’m an interactive designer and am pleased to meet you all. Looking forward to making beautiful software for your amazing projects!

Tonight, I had my inaugural Glowforge session. When I start a new job, I always make one of these fantastic DIY Laptop Stands, designed by my friend, Tomas. It’s kind of like getting a library card when you move to a new city—doesn’t quite feel like home until I’ve got one. That and being particularly clumsy, I wanted to safeguard my laptop from wayward coffee cups.

Typically, I hand-cut these out of cardboard, but have always fancied having one made out of acrylic. While the cardboard version is pretty sturdy, it was recommended that I give it a try in acrylic. I adore the look of etched acrylic, so I started looking around for a pattern. I found this one and added to the side pieces in Illustrator after vectorizing the lines.

One thing I didn’t account for was the nature of the crossbeams behaving differently in acrylic, so when I went to put them together, my slots didn’t line up at all. Fortunately, under much trial and error, I had managed to make my slots pretty tight, so I just laid the pieces across instead of diagonally, which ended up working out just fine.

Future adjustments under consideration:

• Make the crossbeams wider to accommodate my larger laptop.
  • Figure out a way to attach LED lights to the bottom to light up the engraving.
  • Fill the lines with acrylic paint
  • Any other suggestions?

24 Likes

Oh that is epic! And ooohhh, I just had an idea for subliminal messaging…

2 Likes

Welcome @Luz! Neat stuff right out of the gate. Step right up and get yourself a staff handle so we can give due respect where it is owed! And I definitely need something to keep my keyboard and coffee away from each other. So many sticky keys.

2 Likes

Hey, @dan, that sounds like a pretty good idea! :wink:

1 Like