Millennium Falcon from... A not so nice place!

Lets start at the end. I made a millennium falcon. It cut. It engraved. It finally worked. Here it is:

Now, lets go back to my first night with my Glowforge. I was excited to get started (see “Hello World! Meet Emmet”), and following the success of my founder’s ruler and my son’s pokéball drawing (see Pokéball, Gotta Forge 'Em All), I turned to our house guest and decided to engrave him a small Millennium Falcon from Star Wars. Soon after, he had to leave empty handed because I couldn’t get it to work.

Now I’m new to this whole laser world, but I’m a professional designer who can hack his way around just about anything. Add to that I’m typically the guy when someone has an issue, even if I don’t know what to do, can typically search the web and find the answer on the spot. However, this one made me feel stupid. I mean REEEEEALLY stupid. I can’t get something, that clearly everyone else on these forums with a Glowforge can do, to work. After spending a long time digging through forums for a solution, I send a lengthy email to Glowforge Support (again, sorry about that one @Dan_H, @Rita, and whoever else :cry:) about their need to offer solid next steps for getting your own artwork through the machine because it’s really not obvious what to do once it’s all up and running.

I was about to throw-in the towel when I got a response from @Dan_H at 1am to my email (10pm Seattle time, I believe—Thanks for your gracious response at such a late hour). He sent me a link to: Learn By Doing: Your First Three Prints which was only slightly helpful as I’d already done most everything in there (though it seriously needs to be included in the manual or early on in the interface).