Prevent scorch marks on card stock

Hi. I just got my GF Plus and am a complete newbie, so I hope I’m asking this question in the right place. How do you prevent scorch marks when you cut or engrave card stock? Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Like with any other material, you can mask it. You should use lower tack masking most likely, medium or lower.

#2:

7 Likes

With dialed-in settings (that just cut through), I see very little scorching on the surface of assorted card/cover stocks.

Tacking it down to something like a Seklema mat can also help reduce flashback (when you see scorching on the back/under side).

It’s easy to get burned particles on light-colored stock. That’s not scorching but, can look similar. I sometimes use Post-it tape to lift burnt particles away from the surface before removing a cut piece from the machine.

For smaller pieces, Post-it tape will work as a masking.

If you want absolutely no scorching on a piece of light-colored stock, Frisket film (a type of low-tack masking) works well and, comes in larger sizes. It’s spendy but, does a great job. There are probably other good masking options but, that’s what I have tried and use so far.

12 Likes

Thank you!

3 Likes

Like @evermorian said, dial in the settings until you just make it through. This was a little hot, but not bad. This is copy paper.

18 Likes

This has helped lots of people: Somewhat Comprehensive Testing of Settings for Cutting Paper and Cardstock

13 Likes

Thank you! That’s exactly what I need.

1 Like

Thank you.

2 Likes

Thanks for the info. Your paper cut is beautiful! The level of detail is amazing. I’ve seen a couple of posts where people said they use Engrave instead of Cut. Which do you use?

2 Likes

This is stunning! It looks like lace.

3 Likes

That cut paper (lace) is beautiful!!!

2 Likes

That is engraved through.