Succesful stainless steel flask engraving / marking!

After a bit of trial and error, I was able to find the optimal settings and setup to mark on stainless steel flasks.

85 Likes

Wow! Amazing results! Care to share the details of your prep and settings?

14 Likes

Looks fabulous! (But please list the settings in the Beyond the Manual category, not here…legal reasons.) :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

Absolutely! Im not sure what the legal reasons are as Jules below mentions but I will post them in the beyond manuel section. I took photos too. Thanks

1 Like

Thanks for the heads up Jules, I will post them over there now.

3 Likes

THANK YOU! :hugs:
We’re supposed to keep any non-Proofgrade settings information in the BTM section because it has a warning up front to remind new users to be careful when they try new materials and processes, and it’s listed that way in the Forum Guidelines. (Basically we just do it for protection of complete beginners.)

Relevant section here:

" Safety First - Stay with the Manual

Your Glowforge is a powerful tool that could cause serious damage. We advise you to follow the instructions in the manual and the Glowforge app to ensure you use it safely. If you have questions about safe use, post in Problems and Support and you will get an answer from a staff member.

If you would like information on operation beyond what is covered by the manual, you may discuss it in the “Beyond the Manual” section, and only in that section. Note that that section of the forum may contain information that is incorrect and may violate your warranty, damage your Glowforge, and cause injury or death. That is the only place for discussion of topics like:

• Manual settings for materials
  • Modifying your Glowforge unit
  • Third party add-ons
2 Likes

Makes sense. I edited the post to reflect Beyond the manual, is that enough or should I just make a new post? Thanks again.

2 Likes