3D Printed Neodymium Magnet Material Hold Down

I have been using magnets to hold down my various materials since I got the :glowforge:. There are plenty of topics from users who came up with solutions for this, and in addition to magnets, I’m a huge fan of the honeycomb bed hold down pins. Examples:

I had been covering my magnets with tape so that I had something to grab onto to pull off, but sometimes the magnets snapped to each other making it difficult to separate. Also, if the magnet stuck directly to the bed, it was challenging to get them off. I probably could have used a thicker tape, but never got around to changing it. Along comes a 3D printer to my workshop, and decided to print a custom solution. Please keep in mind that this is my first attempt at using Fusion 360 to design something I would actually print off the 3D printer. Everything up until now has been downloaded from Thingiverse or similar.

I went through a couple of prototypes, and ended up with the following. The :glowforge: logo was added purely for aesthetics in case I take pictures or create how-to projects in the future.

I mounted the Neodymium Disc Magnets 1.26" x 1/8" from Amazon in the 3D printed parts and created a cover using scrap cherry :proofgrade: to keep the magnets secure. No Glue is necessary. The hole in the bottom is there to not just reduce the amount of plastic, but to be able to push the magnet out of the mold if necessary. I designed the parts to have a lip to easily be able to pull the magnet off the material or bed. The round ones will be used specifically for holding parts down, while the square one could theoretically be used to mark the edges of materials for multiple prints.

If you have access to a 3D printer, here are the .stl files to print these magnetic holders.
3D Printed Magent Hold Downs.zip (317.4 KB)

*** Updated Version File:
Square Magnet Holder Version 2.1.zip (259.3 KB)
Circular Magnet Holder Version 2.zip (260.4 KB)